Degree structure and studies

The Master's Programme in Computational Engineering and Technical Physics is a two-year programme. It leads to the degree of Master of Science in Technology, M.Sc. (Tech.), which is 120 ECTS credits.

The programme includes core studies, specialisation studies, minor studies, language studies and elective studies.

Core studies (7 - 14 ECTS credits) include courses on technical computing, design of experiments and research methods.

Specialisation studies (70 - 74 ECTS credits). You can study one of the three specialisations in this Master' programme: Technomathematics, Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition or Technical Physics.

TECHNOMATHEMATICS include studies on topics such as modelling and simulation systems, financial models, risk analysis and decision support systems, and intelligent data analysis.

COMPUTER VISION AND PATTERN RECOGNITION include studies on topics such as digital imaging, image processing and analysis, pattern recongition, and machine and computer vision.

TECHNICAL PHYSICS include studies on topics such as material physics, nanophysics, applied optics, and microelectronics.

Minor studies (20 ECTS credits) can be selected from any minors offered by LUT.

Elective studies (15 -  20 ECTS credits) can be selected from any disciplines at LUT.

The Master's thesis and seminar, 30 ECTS credits, is a part of specialisation studies. The thesis an advanced research project, which requires approximately six months of full-time work. It is completed during the fourth semester of the degree programme.

You can find the most recent information about available courses, teaching schedules and degree structures from the LUT study guide.

"I advise you to plan your future before you come to LUT so you can hook up with needed opportunities"

Konstantin Frumkin
Computational Engineering and Technical Physics

Double degree studies for students from partner universities

Students from partner universities are able to study as a double degree student at LUT. Students admitted to the double degree programme receive a degree certificate from two universities after they have fulfilled the degree requirements of both universities.

Computational Engineering and Technical Physics programme's double degree partner universities are:

  • Moscow Power Engineering Institute, Russia
  • Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnical University, Russia
  • Petrozavodsk State University, Russia
  • South Ural State University, Russia
  • Southern Federal University, Russia
  • St. Petersburg Electrotechnical University, Russia
  • St. Petersburg University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics, Russia
  • St. Petersburg State University, Faculty of Physics, Russia
  • National Technical University of Ukraine "Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute", Ukraine

More information about double degree application process

Computational Engineering and Technical Physics

Master of Science in Technology

120 ECTS credits

2 years


Tuition Fees and Scholarships
EUR 10 000 Non-EU/EEA students
Scholarships available

Academic unit
LUT School of Engineering Science


Regular Admission
December 2019−January 2020

Rolling Admission
1 October 2019−31 May 2020

Admissions Services