Degree structure and studies

The Master's Programme in Technical Physics is a two-year programme. It leads to the degree of Master of Science in Technology, M.Sc. (Tech.), which is 120 ECTS credits.

The programme includes advanced specialisation, minor and elective studies as well as a Master's thesis.

Advanced specialisation studies, 50 ECTS credits, focus properties of condensed matter, including semiconductors, superconductors, functional magnetic materials and nano-structures; microelectronics, optoelectronics, spintronics, magnetocaloric and quantum technologies.

In minor studies, min. 20 ECTS credits, you can choose from applied mathematics, data analytics and pattern recognition, renewable energy and energy efficiency. You may also complete your minor subject during exchange abroad (upon application).

You can choose elective studies, 10 ECTS credits, as an opportunity to complement your professional and personal improvements according to your preferences. Choose e.g. language courses or any other disciplines at LUT.

The Master's thesis, 30 ECTS credits, is an advanced research project completed during the fourth semester. The Master's thesis requires approximately six months of full-time work.

You can find the most recent information about courses and degree structures in the LUT study guide 2021/2022.

Internship places at CERN

The Master's Programme in Technical Physics offers first-year students three internship places at CERN. Students apply for the internship at the end of January through the Helsinki Institute of Physics HIP summer student programme. Over a period of three months, selected students will work on an advanced technical project as part of an experimental team such as Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) at Large Hadron Collider (LHC).

Technical Physics

Master of Science in Technology

120 ECTS credits

2 years

Start date
August 2022


Tuition fees and scholarships
EUR 13 500 Non-EU/EEA students
Scholarships available

Academic unit
LUT School of Engineering Science


Rolling admission
1 November 2021 − 31 May 2022 at 15:00 (UTC+3)

Regular admission
1 December 2021 − 19 January 2022 at 15:00 (UTC+2)