Degree structure and studies

The Master's Programme in Software Engineering and Digital Transformation is a two-year programme. It leads to the degree of Master of Science in Technology, M.Sc. (Tech.), which is 120 ECTS credits.

The programme includes core studies, specialisation studies, minor studies, language studies and elective studies.

Core studies (24 ECTS credits) include courses on software engineering models and methods, requirements engineering, running a software project, research design methods.

Specialisation studies (54 ECTS credits) are available in Software Engineering and Digital Transformation. You specialise in one of these two fields.

SOFTWARE ENGINEERING includes studies on topics such as architectures and architectural patterns, data-intensive
software systems, software maintenance, and quality assurance in software development.

DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION includes studies on topics such as business process modelling, impact and benefits
of digitalisation, digital business platforms, and business intelligence.

The Master's thesis and seminar, 30 ECTS credits, is a part of specialisation studies. The thesis is an advanced research project which requires approximately six months of full-time work. It is completed during the fourth semester of the degree programme.

Minor studies (24 ECTS credits). The programme recommends the minors in entrepreneurship, business analytics, or international business and management.

Elective studies (18 ECTS credits) can be selected from any disciplines at LUT.

Double degree studies for students from partner universities

Students from partner universities are able to study as a double degree student at LUT.

The programme's double degree partner universities are:

  • Higher School of Economics, Russia
  • Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnical University, Russia
  • South Ural State University, Russia
  • St. Petersburg University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics, Russia

More information about double degree application process

Students admitted to the double degree programme receive a degree certificate from two universities after they have fulfilled the degree requirements of both universities.

Software Engineering and Digital Transformation

Master of Science in Technology

120 ECTS credits

2 years


Tuition Fees and Scholarships
EUR 10 000 Non-EU/EEA students
Scholarships available

Academic unit
LUT School of Engineering Science


Regular Admission
December 2019−January 2020

Rolling Admission
1 October 2019−31 May 2020

Admissions Services