Timo Ritakallio appointed to LUT University’s Advisory Board

LUT University has appointed Timo Ritakallio, President and Group CEO of the OP Financial Group, to its Advisory Board as of 1 July 2020.

Timo Ritakallio, Doctor of Science (Technology), Master of Laws, and MBA, has previously worked as President and CEO and Deputy CEO of the Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company, Deputy CEO of Pohjola Bank, and Executive Vice President and Member of the Executive Board of OKO Bank.

LUT University's Advisory Board is composed of experts whose experience and expertise support the university's strategic profile.

"Timo Ritakallio has a strong track record in responsible business and exactly the kind of vision and experience our strategy requires. His innate can-do attitude is also characteristic of us at LUT," says Rector Juha-Matti Saksa, LUT University. "It's great to have Timo join us to strengthen our connections to the world of work.  His expertise is a fitting addition to our own. We warmly welcome him on board."

The Advisory Board analyses future changes in business, industries and society, improves the university's research, education, impact and success in the long term, and operates in an advisory capacity.

"High-quality scientific research is important to the success of Finnish society and companies. I want to do my part to enhance collaboration between businesses and academia – an alliance that can help both parties to reach their goals. LUT University has been very active on this arena," explains Timo Ritakallio, President and Group CEO of the OP Financial Group.

Continuing their term on the LUT Advisory Board are Mika Anttonen, Chair of the Board of St1, Harri Kerminen, vuorineuvos (Finnish honorary title), Ari Korhonen, Angel Investor, Pertti Korhonen, CEO of Traffic Management Finland, Juha Laaksonen, Professional Board Member, Päivi Leiwo, Chair of the Board of Oilon, Ari Rahkonen, CEO of MultiTaction, Juha Rantanen, vuorineuvos, Kirsi Sormunen, Professional Board Member, and Jyrki Talvitie, Member of the Management Board of Magnit. The Chair of the LUT Advisory Board is Atte Jääskeläinen, LUT University's Professor of Practice.

Risto Siilasmaa, Chair of the Board of Nokia, will leave his seat on the LUT Advisory Board at the end of June.

The new term of the Advisory Board will start on 1 July 2020.