This two-day satellite event gathers collaborators and colleagues alike of Heikki Haario in celebration of his 70th birthday. The program starts on 11/12 at noon and ends on 12/12 evening, followed by a popular talk by Samuli Siltanen. The full schedule will be updated on the program page.

A short bio of Heikki Haario

Heikki Haario (born 30.08.1953) entered the University of Helsinki in 1972 and defended his PhD dissertation in 1979. The thesis and the subsequent papers dealt with classical problems in geometric function theory. After this, he oriented from pure to applied mathematics, numerical methods and especially inverse problems. He continued working on industrial applications as a visiting scientist at Kemira Ltd, from 1987—1992. In 1992, Haario founded a mathematical consulting company called ProfMath Ltd., which he managed full-time for about ten years. Since 2000 he has been working at Lappeenranta-Lahti University of Technology in various roles, as an associate and then full professor, head of department, and dean. During that time he has supervised 21 PhD students. Part of his research has been carried out at the Finnish Meteorological Institute, where he acted as a part-time research professor during 2015-2021.

In his works, Haario has developed several methods for modelling and inverse problems, such as regularization, asymptotic methods for model reductions, filtering algorithms for data assimilation, and parameter tuning for weather and climate models. He has introduced computational methods for Bayesian statistics, especially adaptive  MCMC algorithms. The related articles have become standard references on this area, with over 6700 citations (Google Scholar) by this time. The recent and ongoing works focus on ways to create rigorous likelihoods for ‘intractable’ inference situations, with applications to chaotic dynamics, stochastic differential equations or random patterns.

Confirmed invited speakers

Johanna Tamminen

Eero Saksman

Erkki Somersalo

Youssef Marzouk

Antonietta Mira

Dmitri Kuzmin

T̶a̶p̶i̶o̶ ̶S̶a̶l̶m̶i̶   Johan Wärnå

Marko Laine

Michael Boy

Miracle Amadi

Antti Solonen