Advisory board

LUT's Advisory Board analyses changes in business, industries and society and contributes to the long-term success of LUT's research, education and impact. The Advisory Board acts in a consultative capacity.

Tuomo Rönkkö
Chair of the LUT University Board

Professional board member and seasoned innovation expert Tuomo Rönkkö is the chair of the LUT Advisory Board. He also chairs the boards of the university's own investment company Green Campus Innovations and the Society for Viipuri School of Economics. Previously Rönkkö has worked in management positions e.g. Andritz, Eltel and Maintpartner Group.

Mika Anttonen
Chairman of the Board for St1

Mika Anttonen founded the energy company St1 in 1995 and is its majority stockholder and board chairman. Anttonen also owns the Sport Institute of Finland and an important patron of Finnish sports. 

Jyrki Katainen
President of Sitra, politician

Jyrki Katainen, President of Sitra and Master of Social Sciences, has made his mark as Finland's Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and as Vice-President of the European Commission. During his career, he has focused on analysing changes in society, finding solutions and making decisions. For 15 years, Katainen also served as a Member of the Finnish Parliament, where, among other appointments, he chaired the Committee for the Future.

Ari Korhonen
Angel investor and growth business investor

Ari Korhonen is an entrepreneur, business angel, growth business investor and stakeholder in a number of technology companies. He is the director and founder of the Lagoon Capital investment company. He has invested in roughly 40 companies, six of which have already been sold, including Severa and Paytrail. He is a co-founder of the Finnish Business Angels Network FiBAN and an LUT alumnus.

Pertti Korhonen
Corporate Governance Professional

Pertti Korhonen is Chairman of the Board of the mobile telecommuncations company DNA. He worked a long career at Nokia and was the CEO of Outotec from 2010 to 2016. At Nokia, he took on a number of leadership roles over a 20-year period and served on the management board for several years. In 2006, he became the CEO of Electrobit, and in 2009 he moved on to Outotec. He now chairs the board of Business Finland.

Juha Laaksonen
An experienced corporate manager and board member

Juha Laaksonen built a career in Neste and Fortum, and he was most recently Fortum's CFO. Laaksonen is currently Chairman of the Board of Technopolis and the Alfred Kordelin Foundation and a board member of Taaleri. He has previously also been a board member of Kemira, Neste Oil and Sponda.

Päivi Leiwo
Chair of the Board of Oilon

Päivi Leiwo has served as the full-time Chair of the Board of Oilon since 2009. Prior to that, she had worked as a lawyer for the company since 1989. Leiwo is also Vice Chair of the Finland Chamber of Commerce and a board member of the Finnish Family Firms Association.

Ari Rahkonen
CEO of MultiTaction

Ari Rahkonen is the CEO of MultiTaction and Executive Headhunter for the InHunt Group. He was previvously the CEO of Microsoft Finland and chaired the board of software house Innofactor. He has over 20 years of experience in the ICT sector.

Juha Rantanen
vuorineuvos (Finnish honorary title).

Rantanen is currently Chairman of the Board of Gasum and Teknikum, and a board member of the Messukeskus Helsinki Expo and Convention Centre. He has worked as the CEO of e.g. Borealis, Ahlström and Outokumpu. He was Chairman of the Board of the Confederation of Finnish Industries from 2003 to 2004.

Timo Ritakallio
President and Group CEO of the OP Financial Group

Timo Ritakallio, Doctor of Science (Technology), Master of Laws, and MBA, has previously worked as President and CEO and Deputy CEO of the Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company, Deputy CEO of Pohjola Bank, and Executive Vice President of OKO Bank.

Kirsi Sormunen
Corporate Governance Professional

Kirsi Sormunen is a member of the boards of the VR Group, DNA, Sitra, and Unicef Finland. She previously served on the board of Neste. Her career at Nokia spanned two decades and included a number of management positions. She specialises in sustainable business options and corporate responsibility, and she was in charge of the Nokia Bridge Programme.

Jyrki Talvitie
Member of the management board of Magnit

Jyrki Talvitie is a member of the management board of the major Russian retailer Magnit. He was previously a director at the Russian bank Sberbank and was a board member of Fortum. He currently serves also on the board of Georgia Capital.