Degree structure

The Bachelor's Programme in Technology and Engineering Science is 3 years programme. It leads to the degree of Bachelor's of Science in Technology, B.Sc. (Tech.), which is 180 ECTS credits.

The programme includes general, intermediate specialisation, and language and communication studies.

General studies, 101 ECTS credits, include courses on engineering mathematics and physics, engineering mechanics, engineering thermodynamics, 3D modelling and technical documentation, electrical power engineering and electrical drives, power plant engineering, business and sustainability.

Intermediate specialisation studies, 64 ECTS credits. In the second year, you will specialise in one of four fields:

  • electrical engineering
  • energy technology
  • mechanical engineering
  • environmental technology

The specialisation studies include a project based learning, 20 ECTS credits, and a Bachelor's thesis, 10 ECTS credits.

Language and communication studies, 15 ECTS credits.

You can find the most recent information about degree structure and courses from the LUT study guide 2020/2021.

Technology and Engineering Science

Bachelor of Science in Technology

180 ECTS credits

3 + 2 years
(3 years of Bachelor's studies + 2 years of Master's studies)

Start date
August 2021


LUT School of Energy Systems


Tuition fee
EUR 9 500/academic year
(non EU/EEA students)

Available from the second year

Next application period
7–20 January 2021 at 15:00 (UTC+2)

Contact information:
programme content

Michael Child, Head of the Programme
tel. +358 50 467 6898

application process
tel. +358 46 920 9173