Degree structure and studies

The Master's Programme in Electrical Engineering is a two-year programme. It leads to the degree of Master of Science in Technology, M.Sc. (Tech.), which is 120 ECTS credits.

The programme includes core studies, specialisation studies, minor studies and elective studies.

Core studies (min. 18 ECTS credits) include studies in energy efficiency and technology and society, as well as laboratory assignments.

In specialisation studies (min. 70 ECTS credits), students select two or three of the following elective modules:

  • Electricity Market 22-23 ECTS credits
  • Electrical Drives 25 ECTS credits
  • Power Electronics 19 ECTS credits
  • Design of Electrical Machines 24 ECTS credits
  • Electric Conversion Systems 20 ECTS credits
  • Solar Economy 18-21 ECTS credits
  • Control and Automation 22 ECTS credits
  • Embedded Systems 24 ECTS credits
  • Microelectronics 20 ECTS credits

Minor studies (min. 20 ECTS credits) can be selected freely from the minor subjects provided by LUT, or they can be completed in another domestic or foreign university.

Elective studies (to attain the full 120 ECTS credits) may include any courses offered by LUT.

The Master's thesis and seminar, 30 ECTS credits, is a part of specialisation studies. The thesis is an advanced research project, which requires approximately six months of full-time work. It is completed during the fourth semester of the degree programme.

You can find the most recent information about available courses, teaching schedules and degree structures from the LUT study guide.

Double degree studies for students from partner universities

Students from partner universities are able to study as a double degree student at LUT. Students admitted to the double degree programme receive a degree certificate from two universities after they have fulfilled the degree requirements of both universities.

In the double degree studies, the students choose the electricity market and solar energy, electric drives or control engineering as their specialisation.

Electrical Engineering programme's double degree partner universities are:

  • Moscow Power Engineering Institute, Russia
  • Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnical University, Russia
  • St. Petersburg Electrotechnical University, Russia
  • St. Petersburg Mining University, Russia
  • Tomsk Polytechnic University, Russia

More information about double degree application process

Electrical Engineering

Master of Science in Technology

120 ECTS credits

2 years


Tuition Fees and Scholarships
EUR 10 000 Non-EU/EEA students
Scholarships available

Academic unit
LUT School of Energy Systems


Regular Admission
December 2019−January 2020

Rolling Admission
1 October 2019−31 May 2020