Valkoinen sali, Aleksanterinkatu 16-18, 00170 Helsinki

LUT Business School welcomes its alumni to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the school’s unique Viipuri Prize tradition at Valkoinen Sali, Helsinki, on September 6 starting at 14:00.

On that special day, we will honor the 2024 Viipuri Prize recipient as well as three past awardees. Additionally, it is an exclusive occasion to hear what these distinguished scholars think about the challenges faced by businesses in Europe and globally amid political and economic tensions.

This year’s Viipuri Prize recipient is Ron Adner, Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College, USA. Professor Ron Adner is renowned for his pioneering work on the concept of "ecosystem strategy". His research presents a novel viewpoint on value creation and competition when industry boundaries break down.

In addition to Ron Adner, the following previous awardees and top scholars of business and strategy will be joining us:

  • Professor David J. Teece, the first Viipuri Prize recipient from 2003, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Professor Peter Buckley, Viipuri Prize 2006, Alliance Manchester Business School, UK
  • Professor Constance E. Helfat, Viipuri Prize 2014, Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth, USA

The Viipuri Prize was established by the Society for Viipuri School of Economics in 2003. To date, the award has been given to 10 distinguished scholars for their outstanding achievements in research.